Sunset Ridge Country Club in Northfield, Illinois, will host the 2022 Women’s Western Amateur, the Women’s Western Golf Association and Western Golf Association have announced.

The 122nd Women’s Western Amateur is set to be played July 18-23. The event will mark Sunset Ridge’s fifth WWGA championship. The historic North Shore club was also the site of the 1935 Women’s Western Open, the 1942 Women’s Western Amateur and the 1953 and 1961 Women’s Western Juniors.

Held without interruption since its inception in 1901, the Women’s Western Amateur is among the oldest annual championships in women’s amateur golf. It attracts many of the top amateur and collegiate golfers in the world, and many competitors go on to enjoy successful collegiate and professional careers.

“Sunset Ridge is honored to have been selected to host the 2022 Women’s Western Amateur. Our members and staff are excited for the opportunity to extend our golf course and its facilities to this iconic championship,” Sunset Ridge Tournament Chair Christa Bolt said. “We’re looking forward to watching some of the best young women in the world compete on our home turf.”

Founded in 1923, Sunset Ridge features a course designed by Bill Diddel, a noted golf course architect and one of the founding members of the American Society of Golf Course Architects. A protégé of the legendary Donald Ross and a mentor to Pete Dye, Diddel’s design at Sunset Ridge features several signature elements including fast greens with subtle contours that create both challenging and beautiful putting surfaces.

The course was renovated in 2006 by Rick Jacobson, whose work at Sunset Ridge garnered acclaim from publications such as Golf Magazine. The magazine voted Sunset Ridge “No. 1 Private Course Renovation in the USA” that year.

In addition to its WWGA championships, Sunset Ridge has hosted three WGA championships – the 1936 Western Junior, the 1972 Western Open and the 2018 Western Amateur.

“We’re excited to bring another elite championship to Sunset Ridge,” said Vince Pellegrino, WGA senior vice president of tournaments. “Our successful Western Amateur in 2018 showed that this exacting layout will present a challenging – but fair – test to every competitor in the Women’s Western Amateur.”

The Women’s Western Amateur field will consist of 120 amateurs with a handicap of 5.4 or less. The first and second day of competition will each include 18 holes of stroke play. After the second day, the field will be reduced to the top 32 players for the match play portion of the championship.

Marissa Wenzler, of Dayton, Ohio, won the 2021 Women’s Western Amateur at Park Ridge Country Club in Park Ridge, Illinois. Wenzler, a Kentucky junior, will return this year to defend her title. Notable past champions and current LPGA Tour stars include Ariya Jutanugarn (2012), Brittany Lang (2003), Grace Park (1998), Cristie Kerr (1995), and Nancy Lopez (1976).

“So much work goes into planning a championship like this, and since day one, Sunset Ridge has done a fantastic job,” said Jackie Wacker, WWGA Tournament Chair. “With a field of the world’s best female amateurs, this will be an event no one will want to miss.”

For more information, visit

WWGA and WGA Championships Hosted by Sunset Ridge

· 2018 Western Amateur – Cole Hammer, champion

· 1972 Western Open – Jim Jamieson

· 1961 Women’s Western Junior – Ann Baker

· 1953 Women’s Western Junior – Anne Richardson

· 1942 Women’s Western Amateur – Betty Jameson

· 1936 Western Junior – Sid Richardson

· 1935 Women’s Western Open – Opal Hill

About the Women’s Western Golf Association

The WWGA was founded in 1901 under the sponsorship of the Western Golf Association. The WWGA’s mission is to foster national amateur golf championships for women and girls while also supporting its foundation, the Women’s Western Golf Foundation (WWGF), that provides scholarships to young women with an interest in golf and who excel in the classroom. The WWGA is one of the oldest golf organizations in the United States. WWGA Directors from across the country volunteer their time and talent to managing the association and conducting tournaments. The WWGA is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.

Women’s Western Golf Foundation (WWGF):

Formed in 1971, the WWGF has granted over $4 million to more than 680 scholars from 45 states. The WWGF receives its contributions from golf clubs and organizations participating in the Annual Foundation Scholarship Day Event, WWGA Directors, golf associations, individual friends, and benefactors. More information on WWGF is available at

About the Western Golf Association

The WGA, founded in 1899, conducts championships for professional and amateur golfers, promotes the use of caddies, and supports the Evans Scholars Foundation’s efforts to award full tuition and housing college scholarships to hardworking caddies with limited financial means. The WGA’s four amateur championships are the Western Junior, Women’s Western Junior, Women’s Western Amateur, and Western Amateur. It also conducts two professional events: the NV5 Invitational presented by Old National Bank on the Korn Ferry Tour and the BMW Championship, the penultimate event of the PGA TOUR FedEx Cup playoffs. For more information, visit

Evans Scholars Foundation (ESF):

Established by the WGA and famed amateur golfer Charles Chick Evans Jr., the Evans Scholars Foundation provides full housing and tuition scholarships to high-achieving caddies across the country. Currently, a record 1,070 caddies are enrolled in 21 universities across the nation as Evans Scholars. The Program, which is supported by the Western Golf Association, is funded by contributions from more than 33,500 Par Club members, including Evans Scholars Alumni, as well as proceeds from the BMW Championship. Since the Program’s inception in 1930, more than 11,550 caddies nationwide have graduated as Evans Scholars. For more information, visit

In 2006, the WWGF and ESF began a partnership to jointly sponsor the Women’s Western Golf Foundation/Evans Scholarship, a four-year full tuition and housing scholarship for female caddies who express an interest in golf. To date, there have been 15 WWGF/ESF Scholars.


About Author

Glen Turk is a Wisconsin native who has been the Senior Writer/Editor of Midwest Golfing Magazine since 2006. Besides being an avid golfer, Glen enjoys traveling, music, and cheering on the finest professional sports team of all-time, the Green Bay Packers. Glen’s ultimate golf goal is to play in all fifty states and currently he is more than half way there. His other dream, albeit far-fetched, it to record an ace in all seven states of our distribution area. Thanks to an ace in Illinois in 2015, and one in Michigan in 2016, he has three down, four to go!

Comments are closed.